Skip to content

dad

June 21, 2009

A short tribute to a wonderful dad.  Dad, I am keeping it short, not because you do not deserve a much lengthier post, but because I can already hear you saying…”ok, ok, wrap it up! ” (you know my ability to ramble-on all too well) 🙂

dad3

I have always loved this picture of you. So groovy + cool.

Dad, I am thankful for so many things you taught me throughout my life.  You helped me become the person I am today and your guidance and love will always be with me as I trip, stumble and fly through this crazy life.

You taught me that being happy comes from being true to myself.

You helped me realize that I am smarter and stronger than I usually believe I am.

You taught me to look beyond my comfort zone of where I lived and who I was to experience different cultures and beliefs in this beautiful world we live in.  Because of this, I have lived in so many wonderful places and met even more amazing people.

You taught me not to be afraid to make mistakes.  You would say, “Everybody makes mistakes. Use your head. Do the best you can. If you make a bad decision, learn from it and move on. It is just a little piece of the big picture. Just don’t be stupid and do it again.” 🙂

You taught me and encouraged me to follow my dreams, to create my own life.

Most importantly, you truly believed in me.  By doing so, you taught me to believe in myself.

All of this you taught me in your easy-going, light-hearted, fun-loving manner.

I am sure that raising three very independent girls was no small task.

Selfishly, it makes me sad that I cannot come to you for guidance anymore, but I know you have already given me more than I could ever need.

Thank you, Dad. I love you.

Happy Father’s Day!

I love you!


4 Comments leave one →
  1. liz permalink
    June 21, 2009 1:22 pm

    love you sooo much sweeets…..that was amazing..and also love the part where you say, just don;t be stupid and do it again…Chris, we were soooooo lucky…ah, I will do more pics later….I cam learn how to use my scanner now….:) love you and LOVE DAD sooooo much! xoxo

  2. June 22, 2009 2:41 pm

    very sweet Chris; I love both pics and your kind tribute to your dad. 🙂 it touches my heart.

  3. June 22, 2009 8:27 pm

    Liz, love you too. Yes, we are so lucky 🙂 I asked mom to read this to dad yesterday…she said he sat down and listened. (which you and I know is not easy or typical…made me cry).

    Jana, thank you. You are always so supportive and sweet, a good friend.

  4. suebabes permalink
    July 18, 2009 11:02 pm

    i have seen that picture of your dad before, but never noticed how much he looks like Jude Law as a young guy. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

