Skip to content

i loves me a good design film, or three

May 29, 2009

I have always LOVED independent and documentary films (well, depending on the subject, I suppose). I was SO spoiled having lived out in Los Angeles and New York for a total of about 11 years where there were always several local theaters showing these films on a regular basis.  

Moving to Florida about six years ago was a bit of a culture shock.  I spent my first year in Sarasota and have spent the past 5 years in Tampa.  Each place has ONE lovely theatre that shows independent films.  Both theaters are great: Burns Court Cinema (Sarasota) and, Tampa Theatre (in, well….Tampa)  (which I love). Unfortunately Tampa Theatre has only one beautiful (and it is quite lovely) theater and has limited showtimes so the number of films and opportunities are slim.

Anyway, the point of this post is not to complain, really… I mean it. It’s just that within the past couple months there have been quite a few great looking documentary films that I have come across that have left me wishing little ole Tampa had just a bit more exposure to the indie film scene.  I have posted all of these on Twitter but was feeling the need to start a running list.

I am hoping to eventually see these films and maybe even in a theater 🙂  but I thought if I can’t watch them just yet, I’d blog about them and share them with all you lovely people who happen to stumble upon my little blog.

So here goes, three films I wish I could see NOW and their trailers to wet your appetites 🙂


OBJECTIFIED by Gary Hustwit

Gary Hustwit who also is responsible for “Helvetica” a great film about the best typeface ever has recently released “Objectified” a film looking at the design and use of the everyday objects in our lives and the people who designed them.  You can read about it here


VISUAL ACOUSTICS: The Modernism of Julius Shulman by Eric Bricker

This film, narrated by Dustin Hoffman, is a tribute to the life and work of famed photographer of modern architecture, Julius Shulman (love him!).  The film not only provides an in depth look into the life and work of Shulman, but also has a great compilation of interviews with “architect Frank Gehry, designer Tom Ford, artist Ed Ruscha, actress Kelly Lynch and writer Mitch Glazer, publisher Benedikt Taschen, Academy Award – nominated cinematographer Dante Spinotti, and a host of others”.  Sounds amazing, right?!!  You can read more about the film “Visual Accoustics” and Julius Shulman at the film’s site here.  There is also a great interview/article from Dwell’s blog about the film here

visual-acoustics

 [Click image to watch the trailer]


COAST MODERN: Open Space, Open Mind by Michael Bernard and Gavin Froome

A multi-generational look into the modernist movement along the West Coast of America from the 1920’s through present day. Mmmmmm modernism!! You can read about it more here   They also have a great blog

 

Ok, so those are the three on my current must see list….any other recommendations?? Thanks!






No comments yet

Leave a Reply

