Skip to content

a new seat for a stylish old ride | part 2

May 19, 2009

I just received some progress photos of the bench for my friend’s Dodge Power Wagon designed in my previous post and I thought it would be fun to have this be a three part post.  I always love seeing the fabrication process and thought you may like to see it as well.

Unknown

As you can tell by the pictures below, sketch #1 was the winner.  In the pictures you can see my friend Matt talking to the upholsterer, Javier, at a Bill Dunn’s Auto Upholstery shop in Santa Monica, CA.  The shop is well-known for its custom upholstery. (It has actually been featured on TLC’s Overhaulin’). Matt and Javier are reviewing Javier’s interpretation of my sketch which is marked out on the foam of the bench.

Unknown-2

Unknown-4

Unknown-1

One modification to the foam sketch: we are having them taper the chevrons more at the top. This was the intent of my sketch and is also truer to the chevron form.  

The chevrons will be in a dark graphite grey and the rest of the bench will be in a lighter graphite grey.  The stitching will be a dark grey as well.

The bench should be complete in a couple days!  I will post the pics when it’s finished. 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 5:17 pm

    Wow! Great design. Can’t wait to see how it comes out. What car is that going on?

  2. May 19, 2009 9:48 pm

    Love seeing your sketches and the physical translation; that’s going to be cool!

  3. May 19, 2009 10:09 pm

    Thanks guys! Its a fun quick little project for me. I’m looking forward to seeing the final product too.
    Justin, I showed a picture of the truck in my previous post along w/ my rough sketches.

  4. May 24, 2009 12:33 am

    I agree; seeing the process is fun. I have so much respect for fabricators, there are so many of them and their expertise is great to watch. I sometimes watch my upholsterers at work; their hand stitching is amazing to me. Can’t wait to see the final product.

  5. suebabes permalink
    June 7, 2009 9:57 pm

    This is too awesome. Makes me want the Delta 88 back for some Chris-customizing. Very cool stuff, keep it coming.

Trackbacks

  1. new seat for a stylish old ride | part 3 « modbird

Leave a Reply

