Skip to content

a new seat for a stylish old ride | part 1

May 14, 2009

Who says interior design has to be limited to buildings?  I just worked on a quick little design project for a good friend out in California and thought I’d share it with you here.  I just love designing outside of my typical realm.  I find it so inspiring and fun. 

My friend Matt  just bought this fabulous 1957 Dodge Powerwagon.  He plans on giving it a face-lift and asked me to design a custom bench seat for the cab. How could I refuse?!  How fun!

sorensen-042209-57w100

 

For design direction, he asked me to draw from some of beautiful graphic details of the truck as well as possibly incorporating his initials “MMW”.  I found that translating some of these to upholstery to be a bit challenging but all part of the fun.

powerwagondetails

He plans on using an anthracite grey leather for the bench with black stitching and possibly painting the exterior of the truck anthracite as well while keeping the interior the teal color.

Here are the quick concept sketches I came up with:

 

powerwagon1powerwagon2powerwagon3powerwagon4 I just got off the phone with Matt and I think number 1 may be the winner.  Number 3 was also a favorite, but may prove to be to expensive to fabricate since the upholsterer will be fabricating this by hand.   I can’t wait to see the final product! I will post a picture of it when it is finished. 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark P permalink
    May 14, 2009 2:45 pm

    I’m stuck between 1 and 2. All 4 are cool tho 🙂

  2. May 14, 2009 2:56 pm

    What a gorgeous old truck. Sounds like a fun project!

  3. jeff permalink
    May 14, 2009 3:13 pm

    I can see where you were going with each of these. I like them all, especially # 1 and 2. It might be fun to incorporate the “DODGE” lettering into it with the mileage (93,745).

  4. May 14, 2009 3:57 pm

    Thanks for the comments guys! It’s so funny, 1 & 2 are my favorite too.
    Jeff, fun idea with the lettering, thanks!

  5. May 18, 2009 3:01 pm

    I love this Chris. I love them all too, but find myself drawn to #4 the most. can’t wait to see this come to life.

  6. June 27, 2009 12:05 pm

    Simply fantastic work on what must have been a fun project. The 1957 Dodge Powerwagon is cool and the end result on the bench work, even cooler.

    Matt should just seal the bodywork and not restore it. Or if he does repaint / restore, keep the rusty effect. The cars weathered body as it is stands makes me think that the vehicle has a “Story” to tell.

    PS: When my ship comes in would you pimp my Lambo?

  7. mark permalink
    October 5, 2011 3:17 am

    hey to all, well i happen to be at an auction and purchased the 57 power wagon in this picture, i have restored it, its an amazing beast.

Trackbacks

  1. a new seat for a stylish old ride – part 2 « modbird
  2. new seat for a stylish old ride | part 3 « modbird

Leave a Reply

