Skip to content

peace outside my window

May 1, 2009
tags: , ,

I don’t know about you guys, but my life has been caught up in quite a whirlwind lately.  Not necessarily bad, actually, things are good.  They are just spinning in five thousand directions.  While I tend to usually enjoy and welcome unpredicted paths keeping things interesting, sometimes I need a little grounding to find center. (that’s the yoga talking)

Life is a funny thing:  the next chain of events really caught my attention.  Maybe its just me searching for things, but check this out:

I was on the phone for hours last night, talking to a few good friends and my mom.  We talked about a bunch of things, one of which was me saying over and over I sure would welcome some peace and direction in my life right now. (wouldn’t we all?)

Well, later last night when I should have been sleeping, I decided to play around on-line instead and made a little mellow mix tape on 8tracks to share with some friends and also to help me chill. 

One of the songs on the mix is by one of my new favorite artists Patrick Watson.  His music is just so soothing to me lately.  The song I chose for the mix is called Big Bird in a Small Cage.  A lovely song.  Don’t worry, I wont try to sing it for you!  Ha! go have a listen though 🙂  I’m not sure if this song fits in with my story, but it calmed me last night and just happens to be about a bird.


This morning as I struggled to get out of bed having already hit snooze on my alarm twice and sent the Goose away twice, I awoke to the sweet sound of the cooing of a beautiful little mourning dove.  I had my blinds on my windows closed so I had no idea where outside it was coming from.  

The Goose was very interested as any good cat would be in a bird.  I opened the blinds, and looked at  the nearby branches but there was no dove in sight. So I dismissed it and went into the kitchen for much needed coffee. 🙂

A few seconds later, I heard the dove again.  As the Goose and I walked slowly toward the window I saw that the little dove was sitting right on my sill and didn’t even flinch when I walked right up to the window.  It was most likely there before but I just didn’t know where to look. (hmmmm….) It just sat there and looked at me for a long time and continued to coo.

It eventually turned around and flew away only to return a few minutes later.  This time with a friend.  So now there are two doves calmly sitting on my window sill.  

I know a little bit about birds, and doves actually and think that these are probably two males  preparing to nest or at least checking out my window sill as a probably nest. 


Anyway, there is so much symbolism in the dove and being visited by a dove.  I do not always go for the symbolism in things, but this morning it brings me peace so how can I turn it away?  Doves have been known throuhout history to be a symbol of peace, renewal of life, new beginnings. 

Yay! Just what I need right now! So that long story aside, check out the pictures I quickly snapped to remind that peace is right outside my window 🙂


dsc013481

dsc013501

dsc013531

dsc013511
dsc013492

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 11:17 am

    Chris, So very cool; what an answer; they represent softness, calm and wisdom to me in these pics (and I don’t know a thing technically about doves). So nice to have a new post to read; I love visiting here.

    smile

  2. May 1, 2009 11:29 am

    What a lovely post! I’ve recently been seeking peace, as well and this post just reaffirmed my need for simplicity in the everyday.

    I hope you have a wonderful, and peaceful, weekend.

  3. triciad permalink
    May 1, 2009 12:10 pm

    awaaaah. i love her little face…so sweet.

  4. Jeffrey Garofalo permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:35 pm

    Nice. there is that song by They Might be Giants too called “Birdhouse in your soul.” That’s a fun track. Hey, what’s up with the Savannah gig>> e-mail me

    “@jeffreygarofalo”

  5. May 1, 2009 1:44 pm

    Thank you guys all for your wonderful comments! Those little birds sure have amazingly made my day 🙂

  6. May 1, 2009 1:51 pm

    We all need that moment from time to time….

    Take care for now lady

    R : )

  7. May 10, 2009 7:42 am

    Lovely pictures, they look like very sweet birds. Its nice to be graced with the presence of our lovely feathered friends. Beautiful blog too.

  8. March 1, 2010 12:34 pm

    Had to do a net search this morning on the symbolism of a visit by doves and came across your posts. Brought big smiles to my face :))
    I have been struggling for a long while with many personal crises in my life, trying to remain positive, but being shot down again and again. This morning, I woke to 2 doves on my bedroom window sill, they didn’t fly away when I approached the window…they seem to give me a feeling of calmness and hope as they seemed to look thru the window to the inside. They have been out there for hours, whether they are looking to nest or just hanging out, I view them as my protectors, a symbol of better days to come.

Leave a Reply

