Skip to content

Help me understand!!! Puuullllleeease!

December 30, 2008

I hope you all had a fantastic holiday.  I myself am still getting back into the swing of things.  I do have some great ideas for the new year, but first…..this uber-important interactive post…just for the fun of it because let’s face it….no one is getting ANY work done this week!!!  🙂

Let’s just call it a study of wayfinding…..


Ok, so  I am faced with this wonderful example of ridiculous waste and stupidity every day as I pull into the parking lot of my apartment.  As if “dead end” isn’t repetitive enough as it is…

Will you PLEASE let me know by commenting below (be as creative as you like):


what the heck was the guy who installed the 2nd sign thinking?????

dsc007851

Thank you for helping me see this from a different perspective 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. rc6750 permalink
    December 30, 2008 7:45 pm

    The little one is for the sidewalk and the bigger one is for the street 😀

  2. December 30, 2008 7:50 pm

    Maybe a fan of Duran Duran? Wah Wah Waaah! 😛

  3. December 30, 2008 7:54 pm

    Phew! This did save me from a close brush with getting any work done!

    I have many thoughts on this, but the first is that the two signs are meant to cancel out for those seeing double.

    But more likely, the far sign seems to have a bullet hole in it, probably because a driver was offended that it had been installed with the inferior single bolt through the metal post system.

    Obviously, a whole new post and sign (using the double bolt clamp system) was necessary, and rightfully installed.

    BUT, what a waste of taxpayer money to tear down the first one! The taxpayer always comes first.

    Brought to you by the Department of Redundancy Department.

    P.S. Expect a third sign now, based on the three phase principle of all lectures: 1) Tell them what you are going to tell them, 2) Tell them, 3) Tell them what you told them.

  4. December 30, 2008 7:59 pm

    I am LOVING all these comments!!! thanks guys for making me laugh 🙂 hee hee

  5. December 30, 2008 8:20 pm

    A little Pink Panther Theme humor perhaps? lol

  6. December 31, 2008 1:53 pm

    That is hysterical.

  7. December 31, 2008 2:53 pm

    As I was falling asleep last night, I became convinced that comment #1 may actually be the truth! Even though that sidewalk’s deadendedness speaks for itself.

  8. December 31, 2008 3:01 pm

    Ha! I am laughing that you are still trying to figure this out….me too!! I think I may agree w/ you on #1, still waiting to see if a 3rd sign shows up per your theory though!! 🙂

  9. geekbus permalink
    December 31, 2008 9:59 pm

    It’s like a tune stuck in your head. Luckily I was able to shake it off long enough to sleep.

    Keep us posted on any other sign activity – could be paranormal!

  10. suebabes permalink
    January 7, 2009 7:45 pm

    yea, i agree this is a street/sidewalk issue, for those renegade pedestrians who see the big sign and think “well, that’s only for cars; i can get thru”.
    no such luck.

  11. January 7, 2009 7:58 pm

    Well, it seems that the sidewalk/street theory may be the winner! What I think is funny is the fact that the freeway wall is directly in front of both of the signs…..I can’t see how a car or a pedestrian think they are getting through….but that’s just me 🙂

  12. January 14, 2009 12:45 pm

    Checking in on this important issue.

    Would it be mean to say that people seem to hit the wall every day without seeing the signs?

    I fear I may have! 😉

  13. January 19, 2009 11:39 pm

    Apologize for the delay on this reply :)hee hee you are funny! Yes! If only there were more signs we may avoid hitting the wall altogether!
    Also, most important being the sidewalk signs….its tricky to know you are about to hit the wall when you going slowly, but you can. We should be thanking the city sign department and hope for even more helpful signs in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

