Skip to content

people, people, people, people, people, people, people!

December 10, 2008

people

Ok, so this is a little long and more serious than usual, but it comes from my heart.  

There are countless blogs, news reports, and articles discussing business struggles in our economy today.  Reasons for layoffs, profitability margins not being met, banks not financing projects…we have all read and seen them.  I am hopeful for the future.  I truly hope things will turn around as fast as possible. Unfortunately, not to be a doom-sayer, but I really do believe it is going to be a while before that really happens – many more people will lose their jobs in the meantime and have a difficult time making ends meet.  

What do we do to get it to turn around faster???  Well, I don’t really know.  I am trying to figure that out myself.  

When it comes to business, I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination.  As you know, I have studied art and design my entire life and play with a torch in the metal studio for fun.  I have however, worked in the corporate business world for more than 15 years.  I am no stranger to business thinking and strategy and, what I do know and want to remind everyone about today is that  the most important element to all business, and life for that matter,  is people.

Any good businessperson will tell you that tactics only take you so far.  It is the relationships that are developed with clients, consultants and employees that make a business sing. It is the people.

It is also the people that are truly the ones suffering in this economy:  the mothers, the fathers, the grandparents, the children.  

Please, we NEED to remain sensitive to this!

We can’t let ourselves get caught up in our own negativity or misfortune or even worse, ignorance of what is going on around us.

My father is struggling with Alzheimer’s now and although he has always been a bit of a raving Italian, he is a brilliant man, a good business man and a good person.  He was always great at bringing me back to reality with things in life.  I am a hard worker and take my work very seriously.  I pour my heart and soul into it…as I do with most things in my life.  While I can’t imagine working or living any other way, this often leads to stress, which can affect relationships with friends or family. (It is the people closest to me that unfortunately get the brunt of my stress reactions-sorry guys… working on that…) Anyway my dad would always remind me of something very important when he would see me getting all crazy and stressed-out from work.  

He’d say:

 

“It’s just a job.  Jobs will come and go.  They are just things.  It is the people in your life that are far more important.  They will be the ones that are there for you.  They are the ones that truly need you to be there for them.” 

…such a great guy my ol’ dad 🙂
 

So as I struggle to stay positive as I see more and more people lose their jobs, I try to remember the importance of maintaining humanity and compassion for everyone affected by this economy (which is most of us).   If we are there for each other, everything else will work out.  I really believe this.  Yeah, unfortunately businesses may shut down, but this is America….they can be rebuilt!  

Let us instead focus our attention on the importance of our friends, families, and everyone we come upon throughout our daily lives.  Let us think more of them than ourselves.  Let us lend a helping hand as much as possible and realize how important and valuable even the smallest favor can be for someone. People have reached out to me and I can’t tell you how much it has meant to me. (Thanks guys 🙂 )

So…that’s my little pep-talk. Thanks for your patience…..did I tell you my grandfather was a coach?? 🙂  maybe he rubbed off on me too….hee hee

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2008 6:58 pm

    Dead on! In my humble opinion.

    Like him or not, Sigmund Freud said, “The impression forces itself upon one that men measure by false standards, that everyone seeks power, success, riches for himself, and admires others who attain them, while undervaluing the truly precious thing in life.”

    Sounds like he’s with you!

  2. December 11, 2008 4:14 am

    Thanks Oscar,
    I think he is! 🙂

    I do not know why it is so easy for us to lose track and take for granted the people in our lives. I know I need to be better at acknowledging and appreciating them myself. They truly are way more valuable than anything else ever could be.

    Chris

  3. Cade Long permalink
    December 11, 2008 6:04 pm

    I like your opinion about how important people are. They are what make this country bounce back from hard times like these.

    Your Dad definetly had it right and it’s always good to see a daughter embrace her dad’s attitude about life.

    Cade

  4. December 11, 2008 6:28 pm

    Thanks Cade,
    I find myself embracing my dad’s attitude more and more…he’s a smart, mellow, hard-working and generous guy – it would be an honor to be like him 🙂

  5. December 18, 2008 5:29 pm

    Spot on Chris! Very timely words to contemplate and consider.

  6. December 18, 2008 5:38 pm

    Thanks for your comment Brandon 🙂 I am hoping people will be able to remember what is important as we work through these tough times.

Leave a Reply

