Skip to content

birds, signs and life.

August 25, 2009

Do you ever get that feeling like your life is just swirling around over your head?  Well, that’s where I’ve been lately.  Don’t get me wrong, things are good overall.

This year has hit me with changes and challenges, in my own life and with my dad’s illness.  It’s been quite an emotional rollercoaster…exciting, inspiring, scary, fun, sad, fulfilling, lonely, overwhelming, freeing…i could go on and on but I think you get the point.

I know it’s just life.  It is part of the beauty of life.  Through the ups and downs, we rely on and learn about our personal relationships with others.  They are often tested: some fail, others shine.  These ones that shine should be embraced, nurtured and appreciated. They are so important.

I’ve been feeling a bit sad the past few days.  It is looking like my father will soon have to go into full-time care for his Alzheimer’s.  My mom is really struggling to take care of him.  While I knew this would come, it still has proven to be emotionally overwhelming. To entrust my dad’s care to someone else is scary.  I want only the best for him.  It’s difficult to know what he’s going through, how much he understands…it is truly a horrible disease.

A genuine huge note of thanks goes out to all my close friends and family that have been so great over the past few days. You guys are the best!

Anyway…I am a visual person, and as such I often look to the world around me for messages and signs. It’s funny, yesterday I went for a long walk to clear my head.  For the second half of my walk there were thousands of seagulls, egrets, and pelicans swarming along the edge of the bay, right along my walking path.  Most of them hovering mid-air.  I am sure there was some giant school of fish in the bay below, but it was truly something out of a movie.  I snapped a few pictures…

Unknown-1

Unknown

Walking amongst these birds was absolutely beautiful, and yet, a bit scary too.

What is funny is this beautiful letterpress piece I found today on the site share some candy printed by studio on fire. Its absolutely lovely graphically.  I chuckled when I read the chinese proverb scribbled within its “nest”

6a00d8341ca70953ef0120a51a2da6970b-800wi

I needed this message today.  My hair is off-limits! From now on I’m wearing a hat. Make your nest elsewhere “birds of sadness”…kthxbai. :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

