Skip to content

tormented, generically speaking: a review of Target’s new generic brand.

July 26, 2009

Ok, so I have to get something off my chest.  I can’t stop thinking about it.  I’m not sure why but it’s just bugging the heck out of me.

So have you seen the new logo for the generic brand at Target?  It’s called up & up.  I’m not sure on the reason for the choice of the name but we’ll get into that later.

First off, here it is in all its glory.

“Exhibit A”

DSC01543

Is it me or does it look to you like it was designed to be flipped over?  Maybe I have looked at stair symbols too many times in architectural drawings, but  I can’t look at it without flipping it in my head.  This has caused me much stress.

The font they chose for the “u” and the “p” are a perfect upside-down “d” and “n”.  If not for the ampersand, I would definitely think their intent was to have this logo work from both directions.  Notice when it is flipped….this is how it looks in my head .

Exhibit “B”

DSC01545

Perhaps a “+” would have been a better choice than the ampersand.

Obviously “up & up” is more positive of a statement than “dn & dn” but I think they are saying both and it’s killing me.

In fact, they have installed these little arrows pointing up and down as floor graphics in my local Target. So, depending on which side of the aisle you approach it from it may be up & up or dn & dn.

Now to the name.  “up & up”.  What? Why?  Am I moving up because I am buying generic?  Are the prices on generic going up & up?  What is up & up and what does it have to do with generic products? Ugh!! I don’t get it.  I will say, it makes me feel better than dn & dn: talk about a depressing product line.

dn & dn makes me sad.  Rather than feeling cost conscious for buying generic, I feel as if I am spiraling into the abyss of poverty. Suddenly I am not certain of my self-worth. dn & dn it goes, where it stops, nobody knows.

Well, I still bought a couple of their generic products last week,  but I will say I may not in the future.  This logo torments me and it is painful to look at it. Target, please go back to the  old target sign of yesterday.  It may not have been fabulous, but I was ok with it.


DSC01548

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2009 1:19 pm

    very true chris, and funny. It’s like they released this from a tired first pass revision gone unreviewed :)

  2. July 26, 2009 1:23 pm

    Astute observation – strange that no one else on their (design) team noticed this before they launched the new logo …?

  3. suebabes permalink
    September 20, 2009 11:36 pm

    kind of love the “dark side” of target coming thru.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

